Choosing Subjects

Students choose six subjects to study for the IB Diploma.

These are the six groups of subjects:

  • Language and Literature
  • Language Learning
  • Individuals and Societies
  • Experimental Sciences
  • Mathematics
  • The Arts

Each student chooses one subject from each group, and subjects in group six can be studied instead of the highlighted ones.

From the six chosen subjects three are studied at Higher Level and three at Standard Level. Please note, that some subjects are only offered at a particular level. For example, Economics is only offered at Higher Level, or Mathematics only at Standard Level.

Each year we try to fully customize the needs of our students. However it should be born in mind that it might not be possible to choose all combinations due to difficulties with the schedule or a limited number of students per class.

In addition to the six subjects students must follow three core components:

  • Theory of Knowledge, in which students reflect on the nature of knowledge and how we know what we claim to know
  • Extended Essay, which is an independent research and directed by the students themselves that culminates in an essay of 4,000 words
  • Creativity, Action and Service, in which students carry out a project related to these three concepts

Please find our downloadable IB options booklet below:


>>Next Section>>